our nations, our journeys

Seven Directions Indigenous Health Awards

Seven Directions is excited to announce the first ever Seven Directions Indigenous Health Awards at ONOJ 2023!

The Indigenous Health Awards originate from the values that guide Seven Directions as an organization, ONOJ as a conference, and the work that we all do in the tribal public health field. By selecting individuals, teams, or organizations for these awards, we honor them for their deep embodiment of these values.  The seven awards recognize outstanding service to and with their communities and true, value-based work in the Indigenous public health field. Recognizing that there are many organizations, teams, and individuals that embody these values, we plan to continue these awards at future ONOJ gatherings.

Click here to learn more about each award and its connection to the values of Indigenous public health.

2023 Awardees

After reviewing nominations from colleagues in the Indigenous public health field, seven outstanding individuals and teams who embody these values have been selected.

From left to right:

Award for Indigenous Knowledge: Dr. David Begay, Navajo Elder, traditional healer, Adjunct Professor, Northern Arizona University Physics and Astronomy Department, and Research Associate Professor, University of New Mexico, College of Pharmacy. The award for Indigenous Knowledge honors an individual who knows that data is power: What we collect, how we collect, and how we use data in a healthcare context affects the quality of care in tribal communities and families.

Award for Service: Dr. Antony Stately, Executive Director, Native American Community Clinic, Minneapolis, MN. The Service award goes to someone who demonstrates a tireless commitment to building Indigenous public health workforce capacity.

Award for Respect for Sovereignty: Chairman Nickolaus D. Lewis, Lummi Nation. The award for Respect for Sovereignty goes to someone who has expanded advocacy and state and federal policies to protect and advance Native sovereignty and health.

Award for Families & Communities: Tiffany Webb, on behalf of the Bristol Bay Area Health Corporation Overdose Prevention Team. This award honors significant efforts to support Native families in their foundational role in promoting Indigenous wellness and community wellbeing.

Award for Culture & Identity: Lauren Stevens, Director of Culture, Connection, and Support – on behalf of her team at Wabanaki Public Health and Wellness. This award honors public health work that reclaims, revitalizes, or reaffirms Indigenous knowledge, culture, or ceremony as sources for healing, wellness, and health.

Award for Integration and Holistic Wellness: Jacquelynn Engebretson, on behalf of the Alaska Native Blanket Exercise Team at the Alaska Native Tribal Health Consortium in Anchorage, Alaska. This award honors the idea that an integrated, holistic wellness model leads to better health outcomes.

Award for Tribal Governance: Chairman Leonard Forsman, Suquamish Tribe. The award for Tribal Governance recognizes someone whose work has bolstered the capacity of Tribal public health systems and made significant efforts to strengthen Indigenous public health authority. 

Seven Directions’ Opioid Technical Advisory Group Lifetime Contribution to Indigenous Public Health Award: Dr. Bonnie Duran, DrPH, Professor, University of Washington School of Social Work

Thank you for attending ONOJ 2023!